Column

Q&A: New testing and inspection requirements

By Brad Keyes / Special to Healthcare Facilities Today
September 14, 2016

Q: I met with our facility engineer and CEO on the required inspections to be compliant with the new 2012 Life Safety Code prior to November of this year. I stated that all testing would need to be completed prior to November, which included the smoke and fire damper tests which are due every 6 years, along with the standpipe flow tests which are due every 5 years.  Ours are not due until 2019. The CEO is wanting to see the requirement that these must be performed “early” by November of 2016 in writing. I may have stated this requirement to them incorrectly.  If so, please let me know.  Could you please direct me to where I can find documentation to back up the requirements?

A: The new requirements called for in the 2012 Life Safety Code need to be completed by November 1, 2016… not the existing requirements. If you last performed fire damper tests in 2013, then you do not have to do them again until 2019. There is no requirement to perform existing tests by November 1, 2016.

New requirements (testing and inspection) that are called for in the 2012 LSC that were never required before, and which you need to have completed by November 1, 2016 are:

Fire door testing (all side-hinged fire door assemblies need to be tested annually)

• Fire hose valve inspections (quarterly)

• Fire hose valve tests (2.5 inch annually; 1.5 inch every 3 years)

• Sprinkler pipe inspections (every 5 years)

• One main drain test if sprinkler water is through a backflow preventer (quarterly)

• Fire drills in OR (annually)

The point is… these items above are new requirements, something that was never required before. Some are quarterly… some are annually… and some are required less frequent than annually. But the first test/inspection must be completed by November 1, 2016. CMS says in their S&C memo 16-29 that hospitals have to be fully compliant with the 2012 LSC by then.

Brad Keyes, CHSP, is the owner of KEYES Life Safety Compliance, and his expertise is in the management of the Life Safety Program, including the Environment of Care and Emergency Management programs.

 

 

See the latest posts on our homepage


Share

Topic Area: Regulations, Codes & Standards


Recent Posts
Recent Posts

Hospital says CMS star rating system has been wrong for two years


Rush University Medical Center found that instead of evenly weighting the eight measures in the safety of care group, the ratings formula relied heavily on one measure

6/22/2018

Blog

Managing medical records: A guide for facilities and providers


Document management technologies can adjoin these competing philosophies and practices for the better, especially as it pertains to managing medical records

6/22/2018

Wisconsin healthcare provider opening cafeteria for free summer meals for kids


Gundersen Health System in LaCrosse is serving noon meals to kids who play in area parks

6/22/2018

Leapfrog opposes CMS roll back of quality reporting measures


Leapfrog says removing the measures from IQR will hurt patient transparency

6/22/2018

Harvard Medical School to disperse portraits of past white male department chairs


The move is designed to put the organization's focus on diversity

6/22/2018





Post Comment




FREE
NEWSLETTER

• News and Updates
• Webcast Alerts
• Building Technologies



All fields are required.